Bourges – June 2018

“What then is time?” wondered Augustine of Hippo. “If no one asks me, I know what it is. If I wish to explain it to him who asks, I do not know.”
The present, the past, the future... Basic material for the composer, an object of study for the researcher... Everyone, in their way, watches time pass by, measures it, observes it, uses it. Yet the question remains: what then is time?

As part of the Art & Science Days, Musinfo proposes to composers and artists from around the world to participate in a call for a sound or multimedia work.

We dedicate this 2018 edition of the call for works to sound and visual / scientific and imaginary time.


Theme:                                                    Time

The theme of this call is time as it is represented in science and the arts in general, and in music in particular. The works must either take their inspiration from scientific knowledge, or apply this knowledge in their compositional process.


Two categories of works will be accepted:
                         1) sound works - stereo or multitrack
                         2) multimedia works - audiovisual

Diffusion of the works:

The selected works will be diffused during a multimedia concert on 27 June 2018 in the framework of the Art & Science Days in Bourges (25-29 June).

Participation requirements:

• This project is open to any composer, performer and sound artist.
• Any work that does not deal with the theme will not be selected.
The duration of the work must be between 3 and 5 minutes maximum.
• The work must be free of any rights of reproduction and distribution under the obvious subject to copyright.
The sound work (non compressed aiff format) in stereo or multichannel format (with its stereo version obligtory), or the multimedia work (multichannel audio with stero version; mov or avi format) should be sent via this specific form: http://www.musinfo.fr/index.php/en/creation/call-for-work/2018-call-for-work
• The work will be kept in the Sound Archives of Musinfo.

Participation in this project is approval of these terms and conditions.


• Deadline for sending the work is 22 April 2018 at midnight.


Selected works :

We received 87 submissions of great quality. The choice was particularly hard. In the end, we selected 15 works that present a big diversity:

Michael Choi (USA)                              

Omar Del Real (USA)                                   

Sergio Gurrola (Mexico)                               

Tim Howle (UK)                  

Filipe Leitao (USA)                                         

Andres Lewin-Richter (Spain)               

Clovis McEvoy (New Zealand)                                

Paolo Pastorino (Italy)                     

QUOD (Spain)            

Berndt Schumann (Germany)                  

David Snow (USA)                     

Martina Testen and Simon Šerc (Slovenia)                        

Fredy Vallejos (Ecuador)                  

David Ventura (Portugal)  

Vortichez (UK)                                          

One Second in the Light

Palindrom (Entropy means nothing to me)

The runner without a trace

False Memory of Normandy

Time Goes By

Time Machine with Voices

A Study In Virtual Reality Music

Velocità limite


Planquadrat II

La relativité pour les nuls

Before The Time

Relative Patterns 4


Want Water


contact :

This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


 Logo Musinfo