Composition Contest and Residency for Acoustic Instrument and Sampo

Saint-Etienne 11 - 18 May 2019

P9050031 extrAlight2

Musinfo is pleased to announce the sixth edition of the Composition Contest and Residency for Acoustic Instrument and Sampo. With this initiative Musinfo supports the work of contemporary composers in the field of live-electronic. The residency will take place during the 2019 Art & Science Days in Saint-Etienne.

The winning composers will receive a commission from Musinfo to compose a new work for an acoustic instrument and SampoSampo is an electronic device made for any musician or composer to expand the sound field of an acoustic instrument.

The writing of the new composition will include two phases:

• First, the winners will work with the P-Soft software which emulates Sampo. They will exchange with the performers of OpusCentrum ensemble, who will prepare the works on their Sampos.

• The winners will then be invited to carry out their residency in Saint-Etienne for one week to finalize their compositions and prepare the concert which will take place during the 2019 Art & Science Days together with the performers. Sampos will be made available to composers during the residency.

This year the performers of the residency are Alicja Lizer-Molitorys (flute) and Marie Ythier (cello).

Applications must contain the following elements:

1 - Short biography (1500 characters maximum)
2 - Photo (for publication at the announcement of residents)
3 - Letter of motivation
4 - Short sketch to demonstrate the composer’s understanding of the work with P-Soft and Sampo.
5 - 1 to 2 scores of recent compositions. Any works containing electronics shall be accompanied by a recording of the work.

Candidates are invited to send their applications by January 31, 2019 by Wetansfer to: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Rules of participation:


  1. Deadline for sending files: January 31, 2019.
  2. The competition is open to composers of all ages and backgrounds.
  3. Winners of previous editions of the Contest cannot apply.
  4. The applications are made anonymous before given to the jury.
  5. The winners are selected based on the sketch, the letter of motivation and the sent scores.
  6. The sketch of one page maximum and in PDF format, composed for P-Soft and a solo acoustic instrument, must be accompanied by the "bank" file containing the configuration. The P-Soft software emulating Sampo is available for download here: No other software or audio files may be used. The writing examples for Sampo and help can be found at: Software and Manual
  7. An international jury will nominate the winners of the contest during February 2019. The jury may decide not to nominate any winners.
  8. The attendance of the laureates during the residency is required.
  9. The choice of instrument for the commissioned work will be made by Musinfo (this year either flute or cello).

Financial conditions:

  1. Registration is free of charge.
  2. Musinfo will support meals, accommodation and domestic travel to and from Saint-Etienne.
  3. International travel costs will be borne by the winners.



  1. The winners will receive a commission to write a new composition.
  2. The winners will carry out a residency of one week, from 11 to 18 May 2019 in Saint-Etienne.
  3. The new composition will be premiered at the end of the residency during the Art & Science Days 2019 by OpusCentrum ensemble.

Alicja et Marie

The performers:

Alicja Lizer-Molitorys (flute)

Flutist from Poland, Alicja Molitorys enjoys an active career as a soloist, chamber musician and an orchestral player. Since 2000 she has held the position of the principal flutist of the Orkiestra Muzyki Nowej (New Music Orchestra) which has recorded CD's for Polish Radio, Decca, DUX and Aurora. Personal webpage:

Marie Ythier (cello)

Classical musician, but also eager to foster and premiere works by composers of her generation, the cellist Marie Ythier can already boast four recordings, that include the new CD for cello solo and live electronics, Le Geste Augmenté, featuring works exclusively written for her and dedicated to her. Personal webpage:


This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

 Logo Musinfo