Contest / Residency Results

The international jury selected two winners of Sampo Contest / Residency:

Vitucci Gerenabarrena
Francesco Vitucci
Zuriñe F. Gerenabarrena

The Jury

Giuseppe Gavazza (Italy, France)


Giuseppe Gavazza studied composition, piano, musicology and electronic music.

PhD and composer in residence at ACROE-ICA of Grenoble, he teaches at the Conservatory of Cuneo and is a permanent researcher at AAU Cresson laboratory in Grenoble. During his many residencies, he has collaborated with artists of all genres, producing around 150 projects.


Robert Rudolf (France, Slovakia)


Artistic director of OpusCentrum Ensemble and teacher in computer music and amplified music at the Conservatory of Noisy-le-Sec where he teaches Sampo in particular.

Slovak composer living in France, he takes part as composer, organiser and musical advisor, to several contemporary music and electroacoustic concerts and workshops. He also works at Radio France as programmer of the Internet radio for France Musique.


Isabel Soveral (Portugal)


Professor at Aveiro University since 1995.,Isabel Soveral teaches composition, analysis, aesthetics of electroacoustic music and classical contemporary music.

Soveral’s music has been performed in Europe, Hong Kong, South Korea, Macau, Argentina, Brazil, Cuba and the United States. She has scores published by Musicoteca, IPCB, MIC, MPMP, Fermata and Cecilia Honegger, and several CDs published by Portugalsom and Strauss, EMI Classics, Nova Música, Capella, Portugaller, Slovart Music, Miso Records, Musicamera, Plankton Music, Deux-Elles and Numérica.

Composition Contest and Residency for Acoustic Instrument and Sampo

Saint-Etienne 2 - 7 May 2021

P9050031 extrAlight2

Musinfo is pleased to announce the eighth edition of the Composition Contest and Residency for Acoustic Instrument and Sampo. With this initiative Musinfo supports the work of contemporary composers in the field of live-electronic. The residency will take place during the 2021 Art & Science Days in Saint-Etienne.

The winning composers will receive a commission from Musinfo to compose a new work for an acoustic instrument and Sampo. The Sampo is an electronic device made for any musician or composer to expand the sound field of an acoustic instrument. For more details, see

The writing of the new composition will include two phases:

• First, the winners will work with the P-Soft software which emulates Sampo. They will exchange with the performers of OpusCentrum ensemble, who will prepare the works on their Sampos.

• The winners will then be invited to carry out their residency in Saint-Etienne, France for one week to finalize their compositions and prepare the concert which will take place during the 2021 Art & Science Days together with the performers. Sampos will be made available to composers during the residency.

This year the performers of the residency are Tiago Coimbra (oboe) and Miho Hakamada (saxophone).

Applications must contain the following elements:

1 - Short biography (1500 characters maximum)
2 - Photo (for publication at the announcement of residents)
3 - Letter of motivation
4 - Short sketch to demonstrate the composer’s understanding of the work with P-Soft and Sampo.

The sketch of one to two pages maximum and in PDF format, composed for P-Soft and a solo acoustic instrument, must be accompanied by the "bank" file containing the configuration. The P-Soft software emulating Sampo is available for download below. No other software or audio files may be used. The writing examples for Sampo and help can be found at: Software and Manual

5 - 1 to 2 scores of recent compositions.

Any works containing electronics shall be accompanied by a recording of the work.

Candidates are invited to send their applications by December 13, 2020 by Wetansfer to: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Rules of participation:


  1. Deadline for sending files: December 13, 2020.
  2. The competition is open to composers of all ages and backgrounds.
  3. Winners of previous editions of the Contest cannot apply.
  4. The applications are made anonymous before given to the jury.
  5. The winners are selected based on the sketch, the letter of motivation and the sent scores.
  6. The sketch must be composed for P-Soft and a solo acoustic instrument No other software or audio files may be used.
  7. An international jury will nominate the winners of the contest during February 2021. The jury may decide not to nominate any winners.
  8. The attendance of the laureates during the residency is required.
  9. The choice of instrument for the commissioned work will be made by Musinfo (this year either oboe or saxophone).

Financial conditions:

  1. Registration is free of charge.
  2. Musinfo will support meals, accommodation and domestic travel to and from Saint-Etienne.
  3. International travel costs will be borne by the winners.



  1. The winners will receive a commission to write a new composition.
  2. The winners will carry out a residency of one week, from 2 to 7 May 2021 in Saint-Etienne.
  3. The new composition will be premiered at the end of the residency during the Art & Science Days 2021 by OpusCentrum ensemble.

The performers:

Coimbra Hakamada big03 light

Tiago Coimbra (oboe)

Tiago Coimbra is principal oboe in the Göttinger Symphony Orchestra, and he regularly makes guest appearances as principal oboe of various orchestras. Chamber music also takes a very important role in his career, playing with the ensemble Camerata Nov'Arte, harpist Carolina Coimbra, CODA Quintet, Trio Fermata.

Miho Hakamada (saxophone)

Saxophonist Miho Hakamada studied Art Management at the University of Kobe, and is currently pursuing her Master's in saxophone with Claude Delangle and in generative improvisation with Alexandros Markeas and Vincent Lê Quang at the Conservatoire National Supérieur de Paris. She is also a member of the Triton Quartet.


Winners of previous editions



This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Logo Musinfo